Next Live Training

60 minute training

HOMELESS
DE-ESCALATION 101

Trauma basics & the five most important seconds of conflict

OCTOBER 10, 2022

1:00 PM CT

11 AM PT / 12 PM MT / 2 PM ET

Here’s what we’ll cover:

  • How your actions influence the person’s brain (and behavior!).
  • Four specific ways that conflict can be more challenging when you work with people who have experienced trauma.
  • Five de-escalating tools that you want to get right.
  • Video examples of how to enforce rules and deal with upset customers.

This course includes a workshop that will be taught on Thursday, November 10 at 1:00 PM CT. 

During the workshop, you will apply the tools learned in Homeless De-Escalation 101 to analyze different situations and role play exercises. 

Current Members

If your organization already has a current membership, you can sign up to receive the registration link sent directly to your inbox!

Not sure if you're a member?

You can watch the training live, or watch the replay.
Recordings will be available via Zoom for 4 weeks following the live trainings.

FREE FOR MEMBERS

If your organization has a paid membership to our trainings, you can attend for FREE.

Library staff in the following states can attend for free under your state's license:
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Missouri
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin
  • free

    TAUGHT BY RYAN DOWD

    Author of the ALA book, The Librarian’s Guide to Homelessness.

    Former Executive Director of a large homeless shelter outside of Chicago.

    Global trainer to libraries, police departments, nonprofits and other organizations on how to compassionately manage problematic behavior from troubled individuals.